Natural disaster declarations extended across northern NSW

Federal Minister for Emergency Management Mark Dreyfus and NSW Minister for Emergency Services Michael Gallacher have today announced an additional five Local Government Areas will receive assistance through the Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements following storms and floods in Northern NSW.

These areas include Kempsey, Gloucester, Tenterfield, Glen Innes Severn and Port Macquarie Hastings. Mr Dreyfus said this brings the total number of areas included in this Natural Disaster Declaration to 15.

“Further local government areas may be declared in coming days, as flood waters recede and assessments are completed.

“One notable impact of this disaster event is in the local government area of Glen Innes Severn, where a major landslip continues to block the Gwydir Highway in both directions between Grafton and Glen Innes,” Mr Dreyfus said.

This declaration triggers a number of disaster assistance schemes to assist with the cost of disaster relief and recovery. These disaster assistance schemes are made available by the NSW Government through the NSW Disaster Assistance Arrangements and they are supported by the Commonwealth Government through the Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements.

Minister Gallacher said the initial Natural Disaster Declarations were made following the severe weather and flooding from ex-tropical cyclone Oswald, which started to impact much of North Eastern NSW over the Australia Day Long Weekend.

“I would again like to thank the hard working volunteers of the NSW SES and our other emergency services, for their tireless efforts in providing both help and comfort to those suffering,” Minister Gallacher concluded.

For emergency assistance during floods and storms call 132 500, or in a life threatening emergency call triple zero (000). For more information visit

Recommended For You

About the Author: Tribune