Pakistani Joint Services Cricket Team undefeated on Australian soil

Pakistani Joint Services Team at the Manuka Oval, Canberra, Australia.

Azam’s century brought 7 wickets win for Pakistan

Canberra, Australia: People say Cricket and Army never go together, but Pakistani armed forces men proved that with excellent comradery and team spirit, no arena is a challenge.

First time Pakistan Joint Services cricket team won the final in the International Defence Cricket Cup Challenge played at Manuka Oval in Canberra, Australia.

In their final crucial 50 Over game of the tournament, Royal Malaysian Air Force made 171 runs which was easily achieved by Pakistani team in 28 Overs just by losing 3 wickets.

With a central theme of ‘Defence unity through cricket’, cricket teams from the Royal New Zealand Air Force, the New Zealand Army, the Royal Malaysian Air Force, the ANZAC Barbarians—a combined team with players from the Australian Army and New Zealand Army—and, for the first time, the Pakistan Armed Forces participated in the third year running of the International Defence Cricket Cup Challenge.

These Pakistani Army, Navy, and Air Force officers throughout the tournament showcased their excellent sporting talent and jovial character leaving Australian spectators in awe. They were the center of attraction in the entire tournament.

Mira Azam, man of the match and the top scorer of the tournament led the team to victory with his finest 116 runs not out. Nasar Iqbal is the top wickets taker of the tournament with 22 wickets in 9 games, along with another top batter, Fakhar Zaman who scored second highest runs in the tournament.

Pakistan’s Joint Services Team captained by Major Babar Nawaz entered the final of the IDCC after beating RAAF team by 8 wickets in the semis. Col Asif Zaman, former Asian Champion of Squash, the Manager of the team is proud of their thrilling performance.

Australian cricket icon Greg Chappell, the ambassador of the event  welcomed the teams on November 25th at Manuka Oval to play the closing  ceremony game between an Australian Cricketers Association Masters team, which included former test players Craig McDermott, Darren Lehmann, Peter Sleep, Greg Ritchie and Greg Matthews, and a World Defence XI team, made up of Mira Azam (captain), Nasar Iqbal, Naseer Ahmad, Shahid Khan, Fakhar Zaman, and other players from the eight international defence teams.

Coverage by Sarwat Hassan

Recommended For You

About the Author: Sarwat