Pakistan beat India to clinch Champions Trophy 2017 title

Fakhar Zaman smashes maiden century as Pakistan beat India by 180 runs to win first-ever ICC Champions Trophy

Fakhar Zaman’s spectacular maiden one-day international century and breathtaking bowling spell by fast bowler Mohammad Amir helped Pakistan crush arch-rivals India in the final at The Oval on Sunday.

Pakistan had come into the tournament as the lowest-ranked team yet was crowned 2017 Champions Trophy winners for the first time.

Pakistan produced an incredible display to defeat  India by gigantic 180 runs. The green shirts set up a daunting 339-run target with a loss of four wickets for the men in blue, but Indian batting collapsed under a calculated bowling attack, with all men out for just 158 runs in the 31st over.

The memorable winning moment for Pakistan
The memorable winning moment for Pakistan

India captain Virat Kohli won the toss and opted for bowl first, but his decision back-fired as the Men in Green took full advantage of the perfect batting conditions by posting a mammoth 339-run target in their allotted 50 overs.

Fakhar Zaman hit a spectacular century to propel Pakistan to 338-4 in the scorching south London sunshine. He shared a fluent century opening partnership with Azhar Ali (59), the pair unleashing a barrage of crisp attacking strokes all around a sun-kissed ground.

Mohammad Amir then tore through the India top order to help reduce the defending champions to 54-5.

Indian all-rounder Hardik Pandya gave a glimmer of hope to team India with a quick-fire 76 off 43 laced with six massive sixes, but it was not enough as Sarfraz Ahmed’s men defeated their rivals by 180 runs to lift the trophy.

Fakhar Zaman was awarded man of the match for his outstanding batting performance. He scored a belligerent 114 from 106 balls to get Pakistan off to a big total.

Player of the Match Award goes to Fakhar Zaman for his sensational  100
Player of the Match Award goes to Fakhar Zaman for his sensational 100

Hasan Ali was named the best bowler of the tournament for his 13 wickets throughout the games.

The Player of the Tournament is Hasan Ali!
The Player of the Tournament is Hasan Ali


Recommended For You

About the Author: Akhtar Jamal

Tribune International